Back to article list

Latest updates to the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions

The European Finance Ministers agreed to add three new jurisdictions to the list as well as to remove three jurisdictions from the list.

On 17 October 2023, the European Council published the updated EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes, known as the EU blacklist.

Recent updates

  • one jurisdiction Antigua and Barbuda was placed on the blacklist;
  • two jurisdictions Belize and Seychelles were moved from the grey list to the blacklist;
  • British Virgin Islands and Costa Rica were moved from the blacklist to the grey list;
  • The Marshall Islands (previously blacklisted) as well as Jordan, Montserrat, Qatar and Thailand (previously greylisted) were completely removed.

Following this latest revision, the blacklist now includes 16 jurisdictions: American Samoa, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Belize, Fiji, Guam, Palau, Panama, Russian Federation, Samoa, Seychelles, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands and Vanuatu.

Currently, 14 jurisdictions are greylisted: Albania, Armenia, Aruba, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Costa Rica, Curacao, Dominica, Eswatini, Hong Kong, Israel, Malaysia, Türkiye and Vietnam.

The EU will continue to monitor the tax compliance progress and implement measures against tax evasion in these jurisdictions. The next revision is scheduled for February 2024.

KPMG EU Tax Centre have prepared a summary in Euro Tax Flash, which provides further context.

Do you have a question? Write us.

Our experts will answer your questions

Ask us
Share the article