Back to article list

The European Council removed four jurisdictions from the EU Blacklist

The ECOFIN Council updated the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes. The EU has removed four countries from the „blacklist“ after the meeting. At the same time, no new jurisdictions have been added that would not comply with respective criteria in the tax area.

On 20 February 2024, the EU Finance Ministers removed four jurisdictions from blacklist of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes:

  • The Bahamas and Turks and Caicos Islands were successful in addressing deficiencies in their enforcement of economic substance requirements;
  • Belize and Seychelles were moved to the greylist (Annex II) for supplementary review by the Global Forum on Tax Transparency and Exchange of Information.

Following latest February update, twelve jurisdictions remain blacklisted:

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Fiji
  • Guam
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Vanuatu

The list becomes official upon publication in the Official Journal of the European Union. We will monitor the next update, which is scheduled for October 2024.

Do you have a question? Write us.

Our experts will answer your questions

Ask us
Share the article