World news
21 October 2021

The European Council has published a revised list of non-cooperative jurisdictions

On 5 October 2021, the ECOFIN Council updated the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes. The EU has removed three countries from the „blacklist“ after the meeting. At the same time, no new jurisdictions have been added that would not comply with respective criteria in the tax area.

Marianna Dávidová
Soňa Vojteková

Public classification in the so-called „The EU Blacklist“ does not currently apply to Anguilla, Seychelles and Dominica. The countries have committed to implement changes to their tax regulations and practices, and thus they were placed on a „greylist“ including other 12 countries (Barbados, Botswana, Costa Rica, Hong Kong (SAR), Jamaica, Jordan, Malaysia, North Macedonia, Qatar, Thailand, Turkey and Uruguay).

Following this latest revision, nine jurisdictions remain blacklisted:

  • American Samoa
  • Fiji
  • Guam
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Samoa
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Vanuatu

ECOFIN is committed to regularly monitor and update the list twice a year to support countries in the necessary tax reforms to comply with the international standards.

The next revision of non-cooperative jurisdictions is scheduled for February 2022.

Share article